We are hi-ce--the Center for Highly Interactive Classrooms, Curricula & Computing in Education--a group of science educators, computer scientists, psychologists, scientists, and literacy and learning specialists located in the School of Education at the University of Michigan.

We are dedicated to educational reform through inquiry-based curricula, learner-centered technologies, comprehensive professional development, and administrative and organizational models.



Namsoo Shin receives a $2.5  million grant from NSF!

NSF has granted $2.5 million to the project "Developing an Empirically-Tested Learning Progression for the Transformation of Matter to Inform Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Design" headed

by Namsoo Shin (PI) and Joe Krajcik (Co-PI) - congratulations!


Joe Krajcik explains significance of nanoscience-related education to Congress

On Tuesday, April 16, Associate Dean for Research Joe Krajcik testified about the National Nanotechnology Initiative Amendments Act before the House Committee on Science and Technology in Washington, D.C.

Betsy Davis new editor of the Elementary School Journal

Betsy Davis of hi-ce, along with UM faculty members Joanne Carlisle and Ed Silver, has been named co-editor of the Elementary School Journal. The journal publishes research with implications for elementary and middle school classrooms. To learn more about ESJ


César Delgado and Cory Forbes receive funding from National Science Foundation to attend ICLS 2008

César Delgado and Cory Forbes, hi-ce graduate students, both had proposals accepted for the doctoral consortium pre-conference workshop at ICLS. Just 44 proposals from advanced doctoral students representing The European Union, Switzerland, The United States, Canada, Israel, and Singapore were accepted by the Doctoral Consortium Committee. César and Cory, congratulations for being selected to participate in this unique international program!

Summer Nanoscience Academy 2008

From July 21 to August 1, hi-ce will host a Summer Nanoscience Academy for Ypsilanti Public School Students who will be in grades 7-9 in Fall, 2008. The Academy is being held at University of Michigan, Ann Arbor Campus.

IQWST Teacher Professional Development Workshop - Summer 2008

The hi-ce IQWST project is hosting a professional development workshop for 6th and 7th grade teachers from July 14-18. About 50 teachers from around the country are participating.

Hi-ce Staff and Students on the Move!

We wish our hi-ce colleagues well in their new ventures. Gerry Rau has left hi-ce during the summer - Gerry, best of luck for the future! On August 7, Hsien-Ta Lin defended his dissertation work successfully - counterattractions! Hsien-Ta will return to Taiwan this fall - we are sure you will do a great job there! Mandy Chambers is leaving her position as project manager of IQWST on August 22. Mandy will continue to be around School of Education, pursuing her doctoral degree here - good luck and please stop by, Mandy!

Welcome to Visitors and New Hice Staff and Students!

Dr. BaoHui Zhang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) returns to hi-ce as visiting scholar for a six weeks period. During his stay, Dr. Zhang will reconnet to hi-ce and look for future collaborations. Terri Ridenour is the new project data manager for The Impact of Online Professional Development (IOPD) run by Barry Fishman. Terri comes to hi-ce from Mathematics Teaching and Learning to Teach Projects here at SOE, where she worked as a Project Administrator. Dr. Sanghyun Jang and Dr. BoKyung Kye from KERIS (Korea Education & Research Information Service) will be working in the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) project as visiting scholars this school year. Dr. Yael Bamberger from Department of Education in Technology and Science, Technion (Israel Institute of Technology) and Dr. Shanna Daly from Purdue University will both be post doctoral fellows working with the Nanogroup. Dr. Andrew Falk will join the IQWST project as a post doctoral fellow. New graduate students are Kasey McCall (UDL), Bridget Q. Maldonado (IQWST), Chad Mullen (MoDeLS), and James Hagerty (MoDeLS).

We are excited about the opportunity to work with you all - WELCOME!